Local student artists among those recognized in multi-county competition

The annual CNY Scholastic Art competition, sponsored by M&T Bank, invites student artwork form junior and senior high schools in 13 Central New York counties, to be judged for regional and national awards and recognition. This year 5,560 student works was submitted.

Judges selected 1,885 pieces to receive Gold Keys (highest honor), Silver Keys and Honorable Mentions for their individual work and eight-piece portfolios. Judges also chose artwork to be honored with Special Awards. Pieces identified as best in each of the 15 categories will compete on the national level.  The CNY Region produced a record 34 national awards, last year. 

An awards ceremony was held at Onondaga Community College, the host site for judging and exhibit, for 19 consecutive years.  In addition to student awards, the January 11th ceremony included special recognition for Jamesville-Dewitt Middle School art teacher, Faith Anne Carapella.

Scholastic Inc. founded the national program in 1927, the largest student art competition in America. For more than 70 years the CNY region has participated.  The CNY Scholastic Art Advisory Council conducts the regional program.  The council includes teachers, throughout the participating regions, who volunteer hundreds of hours.

Everson Museum will exhibit select works March 10 through April 8.

The public is invited to view the 1800-piece exhibit at OCC’s Whitney Applied Technology Center through March 2, open daily 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. and weekends 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. 

Admission is free.

*North Rose-Wolcott – Portfolio, Silver Key: Nicole D’Aurizio.

Gold Key: Kalen Bjerga, Digital Art; Mackenzie Frazer, Photography; Kensie Graham, Photography; Kathryn Humbert, Photography (2); Taylor Malchoff, Photography.

Silver Key: Kalen Bjerga, Mixed Media; Nicole D’Aurizio, Ceramics & Glass; Megan Holford, Photography; Maggie Lapp, Ceramics & Glass; Linsey Madison, Photography (2); Taylor Malchoff, Photography (2); Kathleen Nielsen, Ceramics & Glass; Dakota Poole, Ceramics & Glass; Shealyn Shattuck, Photography; Savanna Synesael, Photography; Kaitlynn VanGorder, Photography.

Honorable Mention: Trinity Beaver, Kalen Bjerga, Brianna Boone, Triniti Boykin, Hannah Cook, Nicole D’Aurizio, Hailey DeNoto, Kathryn Humbert, Linsey Madison, Lizzy Manley, Kathleen Nielsen (2), Kelsey Roberts (2), Jorden Rodas.

*Red Creek – Special Award

Tracy L. Haylor Craftsmanship Award: Arthur Harmath

High School

Gold Key: Carmen Alice Brathen, Drawing & Illustration; Arthur Harmath, Sculpture.

Silver Key: Meadow Alexander, Ceramics & Glass; Arthur Harmath, Jewelry; Amber Paige, Drawing & Illustration.

Honorable Mention: Meadow Alexander, Kimberly Holbrook, Amber Paige, Tyler Scutt, Henry Westermann.

Middle School

Gold Key: Autumn Stoddard, Drawing & Illustration.

Silver Key: Elliot Gray, Drawing & Illustration; Madeline Smith, Printmaking.